下一次禮儀 12月19日, 08:00

大司祭迪米特里·乌斯宾斯基

在中国东南部的大都会——香港的中心,在一个狭小的旧坟场里可以见到很多墓碑,墓碑上的俄语字母可以清晰地辨认。此处是大司祭德米特里·乌斯宾斯基最终的安息之地,命运的流转让他来到了离其家乡弗拉基米尔省成千上万里之外的地方。他作为神父侍奉了近四十年,他毕业于弗拉基米尔神学院,他所主持的东正教堂区是最遥远的堂区之一,他在红蓝条纹的不列颠旗帜下的中国土地上兼任司祭、传教士、政治家、外交家的工作。



来自弗拉基米尔省的神父

数百年来,乌斯宾斯基的先人中就有数位在弗拉基米尔—苏兹达尔教区的各个乡村进行灵性的侍奉。他的爷爷康斯坦丁·尼古拉耶维奇·乌斯宾斯基曾在舒雅县博戈罗茨科耶—切奇金尼村的教堂任堂长,其父伊凡·康斯坦丁诺维奇先任职教员,随后亦在弗亚兹尼基村、科夫罗夫和梅连基县担任司祭。他娶了克拉迪雅·伊凡诺芙娜·吉洪拉沃娃,她是弗拉基米尔著名的历史与地方志学家康斯坦丁·吉洪拉沃夫的堂姊妹。吉洪拉沃娃在这次婚姻中于1886年在弗亚兹尼基产下了一子,受洗获名德米特里。他跟随父亲的足迹于1907年在弗拉基米尔于神学院毕业。

在那个时代神学生当中已经出现了严重的动摇,很多年轻人只是消极地学习,并不希望将来的生活与教会侍奉有任何交集。然而,德米特里·乌斯宾斯基却是一位模范学生,而且他在外语学习上展现出了特别的天赋。他在神学院认真地学习了拉丁语、希腊语和古希伯来语,同样学习了法语和德语。这位年轻的弗亚兹尼基人展现了自己的多语才华,再加上其对东正教深厚的信仰与恭敬的虔诚,他未来的事业已经就此注定。

那时俄罗斯东正教会在远东需要传教士,德米特里决定前往那里。然而对满洲里居民的宣教工作要求传教者精通汉语、蒙古语和朝鲜语。因此乌斯宾斯基被派往位于海参崴的拉扎列夫东方语言学院的汉蒙语言系。当他圆满完成学业后,至少又掌握了三种新语言。乌斯宾斯基于1913年回到家乡弗拉基米尔。在那里,弗拉基米尔及苏兹达尔大主教尼古拉(纳利默夫)(他曾祝福德米特里前往海参崴学习)将德米特里·乌斯宾斯基叙圣为司祭。叙圣典礼于1913年1月14日在圣母安息主教座堂举行。



“中国的使徒”

很快,年轻的司祭告别了他的家人,回到了远东。这次他永远地离开了他的小家;他此后再也没有见过他任何的亲戚。司祭乌斯宾斯基被任命为伯力附近的尼科洛—亚历山大罗夫斯科耶村的教堂堂长。同时他还在伯力女子高中任教。 1917年乌斯宾斯基神父开始在彼得大帝湾(日本海)的被称为海参崴要塞的俄罗斯岛屿上服务。在德米特里神父的堂区里有6个要塞、27个沿海炮堡、弹药与火炮仓库、码头、矿山和4个电话交换台。1920年内战期间,司祭德米特里·乌斯宾斯基被教会领导调至中国的天津,在那里从事牧养与传教工作,并继续学习汉语。在天津待了7年,德米特里神父已经精通世界上最难的语言之一——汉语。他甚至编写了汉语课本并编撰了俄汉字典,这些巨著足以令其名声大噪。他传教团的同僚开玩笑地称他为“中国的使徒”。


1927年3月司祭乌斯宾斯基正式加入俄罗斯传教团,该团由佩列斯拉夫—扎列斯基的主教英诺肯提乙二世(费古罗夫斯基)领导,主教的先人同样来自弗拉基米尔教区。白俄战败后,俄罗斯难民如潮水般通过远东和中亚涌入中国,据研究人员估计,难民人数达到了五十万。因此在中国的东正教传教士的首要任务变成了对同胞的灵性指导。

从香港到马尼拉

1934年,德米特里·乌斯宾斯基在北平服务七年后被叙升为大司祭,并被派往中国南方城市去定时举行礼仪。在这个巨大的国家,司祭严重缺乏。在香港、广州、澳门和其它城市,上海的神父只是偶尔会来一次。谦虚、受过良好教育、不知疲劳、精力充沛的大司祭乌斯宾斯基展开了火热的行动,他很快在东正教居民中赢得了普遍的尊重与支持,大家都因神父的良善与同情心而爱戴他。对于许多在异国他乡生计没有着落且绝望的移民而言,神父在物质与精神上的支持有着诸多的意义,很多时候,大司祭神父直接拯救了自己同胞的性命。

不久,由于德米特里·乌斯宾斯基的努力,三所新祈祷所很快得到了开放:香港的圣彼得圣保罗教堂、广州的“意外之喜”圣母像教堂和澳门的圣三一教堂。 1934年秋,神父在菲律宾群岛的首都马尼拉也组织了东正教团体。1937年大司祭乌斯宾斯基在厦门开设了祈祷所。香港成为了德米特里神父侍奉的中心,在那里神父组织了优秀的教会唱经班和儿童与成人主日学校。香港当时是英国殖民地,受过良好教育且精通多国语言的神父受到了中国当局与不列颠殖民地政府的尊敬。大司祭乌斯宾斯基偶尔会在他的教民与当地官员之间充当中间人,维护教民的权利。

“为了我们的胜利!”

在伟大的卫国战争年代,不接受布尔什维克的胜利的大司祭乌斯宾斯基在自己的讲道中表示支持红军,祝愿苏联战胜希特勒之流。他同样反对日本侵略者,日军摧毁了位于马尼拉的东正教大教堂。据说神父因为预见到苏联军队将获得胜利,那些年他在讲道结束时,会像苏联英勇的反谍报人员一样喊“为了我们的胜利”的口号,这大大地震惊了“顽固”的不与苏联妥协的白俄移民。 1945年,大司祭乌斯宾斯基接受了莫斯科宗主教区的管辖。然而,1949年发生在中国的革命将许多问题带到了老神父的面前。由于担心新政府的压制,移民们开始了离开中国的第一波浪潮,主要移居地为澳大利亚、巴西和加拿大。政府压制各界宗教人士,对东正教也没有例外。虽然德·乌斯宾斯基本人留在了不列颠的殖民地上,但也有人多次建议他离开革命的中国,但是大司祭却一直陪伴着自己稀少的羊群。

与传教团团长及主管主教之间的联系被切断了。在北京最后的东正教主教维克多返回了莫斯科。大司祭乌斯宾斯基处于灵性封锁的状态。这种状态由于巨大的政治成本而延续了近20年。一直到1968年扎赖斯克的尤维纳利(波亚尔科夫)主教,未来的克鲁季茨都主教,俄罗斯东正教会外联部负责人,在去东京时才顺道拜访了香港。主教授予了大司祭德米特里胸挂十字架,该嘉奖来自莫斯科及全俄宗主教阿列克谢一世,作为对其多年来为正教的福祉而忘我劳作的表彰。 1968年11月28日,尤维纳利座下在香港圣彼得圣保罗教堂举行了事奉圣礼,这是自1945年以来,这个城市第一次由主教主持礼仪。

香港墓穴上来自弗亚兹尼基的土

那时,德·乌斯宾斯基的健康状况已经非常糟糕。他自己已经没有力气举行事奉圣礼,但他迎接了来自莫斯科着全套祭服的年轻主教。1969年德米特里·乌斯宾斯基的女儿在其要求下以游客身份访问了苏联。据说,那时,也就是40年前,她访问了弗亚兹尼基(那里没有国防机密,所以也会勉强放外国游客进入这座城市)并从那里带回了一把乡土。1970年1月17日上午,大司祭德米特里·乌斯宾斯基在香港逝世,离84岁生日仅差一天。这位功绩卓著的司祭、传教士的葬礼于1月25日的事奉圣礼后在香港坟场举行。葬礼被延迟,因为要等待由莫斯科派来主持葬礼的波多尔斯克的格尔摩根主教。大司祭乌斯宾斯基的墓穴上撒上了一把来自遥远的弗亚兹尼基的土。

但是9年后,墓园进入了马路的建设区,英国当局决定将其铲平。最后尚存的大司祭乌斯宾斯基的信友向港督戴麟趾请求将德米特里神父的墓穴迁至坟地老教堂附近没有施工的地段。总督同意了乌斯宾斯基女儿及教友们的请求。就这样,93年前在弗亚兹尼基开始尘世生活的司祭,在30年前彻底结束了他的尘世旅程。

传教事业在继续

德·乌斯宾斯基逝世后不久,香港东正教堂就关闭了,教堂其中一件圣物就是圣使徒彼得保罗的圣像,它被送到澳大利亚墨尔本市新成立的圣三一堂区。一直到2004年,香港才重开了俄罗斯东正教堂区。大司祭迪奥尼西·波兹德尼耶夫(迟秋农)被任命为其堂长。

2008年墨尔本圣三一教堂的教民将圣使徒圣像交还给了在香港的同信者迪奥尼西神父及其羊群。简短的交接仪式着重强调了大司祭乌斯宾斯基的功劳,并且如今传教事业仍在继续。

如今在德米特里神父的墓前定期会举行安息亡人祈祷,以此纪念东正教堂区的第一位堂长。

分享:

Next service: March 26, 10:00

Archpriest Dmitry Uspensky

In the centre of Hong Kong, the vast city in the Southwest of China, at a tiny old cemetery you can see a modest gravestone; Russian letters are easily read on it. This is the place of the final abode of Archpriest Dmitry Uspensky whose destiny took him thousands miles from his native shore - Province of Vladimir. During almost 40 years the priest, a graduate of Vladimir School of Theology, had been the rector of one of the most remote of the Orthodox parishes. He combined the activities of a priest, missionary, politician and a diplomat in China under the red-blue-white-striped British flag.



The Pastor from Vladimir Upcountry

Uspensky’s ancestors had served as priests in various rural communities of the Vladimir-Suzdal Diocese. His grandfather Constantin Nikolaevich Uspensky was the rector of the church in Bogorodskoye-Chechkinykh town of Shuya District, and his father Ivan Constantinovich was a teacher, later a priest too, in the rural communities of Vyazniki, Kovrov and Melenki Districts. He was married to Claudia Ivanovna Tikhonravova, a cousin of a well-known historian and a regional ethnographer from Vladimir – Constantin Tikhonravov. In Vyazniki in 1886 the Uspenskys had a son from this marriage christened Dmitry. He followed in the steps of his father and graduated from Vladimir School of Theology in 1907.

Even at that time there was an intellectual fermentation of the students of theological schools, many of them had studied by inertia, without wishing to dedicate their lives to ordained ministry. Nevertheless, Dmitry Uspensky was an exemplary student, and his higher calling was studying languages. Latin, Greek, Hebrew as well as German and French were taught very seriously at the theology school. This young student from Vyazniki had shown himself a real polyglot. Together with devout religiosity and obsessive adherence to Orthodoxy, it foredoomed his entire further career.

At that time Russian Orthodox Church was in need of missionaries in the Far East, and Dmitry decided to go there. However, to convert to Christianity the local people of Manchuria, it was necessary for him to have a perfect knowledge of Chinese, Mongolian and Korean. For that reason student Uspensky was sent to the Chinese-Mongolian Branch of the Lazarev Institute of Oriental Languages in Vladivostok. After his successful graduation, he returned to Vladimir in 1913 with the knowledge of at least three more languages. In Vladimir, Archbishop Nicholas (Nalimov) of Vladimir and Suzdal, who had blessed him to go on language studies to Vladivostok, ordained Dmitry Uspensky a priest on the 14th of January, 1913 at the Uspensky Cathedral.



The Apostle of China”

Soon the young priest said goodbye to his family members and went back to the Far East. As it turned out later, he left his small motherland forever; he had never seen any of his relatives anymore. Priest Uspensky was appointed the rector of the church in Nicolo-Aleksandrovskoye town near Khabarovsk. At the same time he taught at Khabarovsk Girl’s High School. In 1917 Fr. Dmitry began to serve on Russky Island in Peter the Great Bay (the Sea of Japan) in so called Vladivistok Fortress. In the parish of Fr. Dmitry there were the personnel of 6 redoubts, 27 coast batteries, powder magazines and cartridge stores, a wharf, a mine and torpedo station and 4 telephone stations. In 1920, in the midst of the Civil War priest Dmitry Uspensky was transferred by the Church authorities to Tianjin (Tientsin), China, where he began to serve as a priest and missionary continuing to study Chinese. For seven years in Tianjin Fr. Dmitry had mastered the subtleties of Chinese, the hardest language to learn. He even wrote a textbook and compiled a Russian-Chinese dictionary – a magnum opus that itself could get him fame. His colleagues-missionaries jokingly called him “the Apostle of China”.

In March, 1927 priest Uspensky was officially employed by the Russian Orthodox Ecclesiastical Mission lead by the titular bishop of Pereslavl-Zalessky Fr. Innokentiy II Figurovsky, whose ancestors come from Vladimir Diocese. After the final defeat of White Russians China was flooded by Russian refugees who came there through Central Asia and Far East; the number of refugees estimated by the researchers reached half million. Therefore, the Orthodox missionaries in China gave absolute priority to spiritual guidance of their compatriots.

From Hong Kong to Manila

In 1934, after 7 years of his service in Beijing Dmitry Uspensky, elevated to the rank of an archpriest, was sent to the cities of Southern China to celebrate regular divine services. The huge country was catastrophically short of priests. A priest from Shanghai once in a while used to visit Hong Kong, Canton (Guangzhou), Aomen (Macau) and other cities. Modest, highly-educated, distinguished by unresting energy Archpriest Uspensky made things hum, quickly got everybody’s respect and support of the Orthodox population, who loved the priest for his kindness and generosity. For many of émigrés who was left destitute abroad and who surrendered themselves to despair, Fr. Dmitry’s moral and material support made much of a difference; quite often Fr. Dmitry simply saved the lives of his compatriots.

A short time later, due to his commitment three new churches were opened: the Church of Ss Peter and Paul in Hong Kong, the Church of the Icon of the Mother of God “The Unexpected Joy” in Canton (Guangzhou) and the Holy Trinity Church in Aomen (Macau). In the autumn of the same 1934 he organized an Orthodox community in Manila, the capital of Philippines. In 1937 Archpriest Uspensky opened a church in Amoy (Xiamen). Hong Kong became the centre of Fr. Dmitry’s Christian ministry, where he organized an excellent choir and a Sunday school for both children and adults. At that time Hong Kong was a British colony. The highly-educated priest-polyglot was a respectable person for Chinese authorities as well as for British Colonial Administration. Occasionally Archpriest Uspensky mediated between his people and local officials, asserting the rights of his parishioners.

“For Our Victory”

In the years of the Great Patriotic War Fr. Dmitry, who hadn’t accepted the triumph of the Bolsheviks in Russia, spoke to support for the Red Army in his sermons, wishing the victory to Soviet Russia over Hitler’s forces. He also took a stand against the Japanese who, among other things, destroyed an Orthodox church in Manila. It’s said that Fr. Dmitry, having in mind successful attacks of Soviet forces, concluded his sermons as a brave Soviet intelligence officer with the appeal “For our victory!” That was shocking for the most uncompromising émigrés. In 1945 the parish of Archpriest Uspensky took the jurisdiction of the Moscow Patriarchate. However, the Chinese revolution of 1949 caused many new problems for the old priest. Being afraid of the repressions from the new regime, the émigrés of the first wave began to leave the Celestial Empire, going mainly to Australia, Brazil, and Canada. The government of Mao Zedong persecuted votaries of any religion without exception for Orthodox Christians. Although Fr. Dmitry stayed within the territory of a British colony he was repeatedly offered to leave revolutionary China.

The communications with the head of the Mission and governing bishop were cut off. The last Orthodox bishop in Beijing Victor had gone to Moscow. Archpriest Uspensky had remained in the spiritual blockade. Due to the penalties of the big-time politics of the time, this situation lasted for almost 20 years. Only in 1968 Bishop Yuvenaly (Poyarkov) of Zaraisk (future Metropolitan of Krutitsy and the head of the Department for External Church Relations) visited Hong Kong on his way from Tokyo. His Grace awarded Fr. Dmitry with a pectoral cross from the Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia Alexiy I for many years of selfless labour for the benefit of the Orthodoxy.  On the 28th of November, 1968 His Grace celebrated the Divine Liturgy in the Church of Ss. Peter and Paul in Hong Kong. It was the first episcopal service in the city since 1945.

Soil from Vyazniki on the Grave in Hong Kong

By that time Fr. Dmitry's health had got much worse. Fr. Dmitry was no longer able to celebrate the divine services but he met the young Archpriest in full liturgical vestments. In 1969 Dmitry Uspensky’s daughter Adelaide, at his request, visited the Soviet Union as a tourist. According to the legend, just then, 40 years ago, she visited Vyazniki (there were no places having defence-related significance, and foreigners were reluctantly allowed to go there). She brought a handful of soil from there. In the morning of the 17th of January, 1970 Archpriest Dmitry Uspensky died one day shy of his 84th anniversary. The church burial of the distinguished pastor and missionary took place on the 25th of January after the Divine Liturgy at the Colonial Cemetery of Hong Kong. The delay of the burial was caused by the expectation of the arrival of Bishop Hermogenes of Podolsk who was sent from Moscow especially to hold the funeral. A handful of soil from faraway Vyazniki was thrown onto the grave of Archpriest Uspensky.

However, nine years later the major part of the cemetery became the construction site of a new road, and British authorities decided to demolish it. The last surviving admirers of Archpriest Uspensky applied to the Governor of Hong Kong David Trench with a request to transfer the grave of Fr. Dmitry to the place near the old Chapel of the cemetery which stayed out of the construction site. He acceded to the request of Uspensky’s daughter. In such a way 30 years ago came to the end the priest’s earthly life, which had begun 93 years before in our Vyazniki.

The Mission Goes on

The Orthodox church in Hong Kong was closed soon after Fr. Dmitry Uspensky passed away. One of the holy relics – the temple icon of Saints Apostles Peter and Paul – was handed over to the newly established Holy Trinity parish in Australian city of Melbourne. Only in 2004 the Orthodox parish was re-established in Hong Kong. Archpriest Dionisy Pozdnyaev was appointed its rector.

In 2008 the parishioners of Holy Trinity Church in Melbourne handed over back the temple icon of Saints Apostles to their brothers in faith in Hong Kong – Fr. Dionisy and his people. While doing so they underscored the merits of Archpriest Uspensky, whose mission goes on now.

Regular memorial services in commemoration of the first rector of the Orthodox parish Fr. Dmitry are still being conducted on his grave.

Share: